5 comments on “Ultimate goal

  1. that’s my ulterior motive. mwahahaha.

    although, found out yesterday that wordpress doesn’t allow adsense. have to host the blog myself if i want to make bajillions from google, proving again that you have to spend to earn.

  2. “I guess I’ll be paying rent forever.” So if the alternative is “paying interest+capital on a mortgage forever”, that is still better, in my opinion.

    This is because the money you are paying goes into an “asset”. I don’t know the housing market in Philippines (I’m in the UK), but I suspect house prices go up as well. Therefor your asset is also appreciating.

    Yes, you may end up paying a mortgage until you are old, but if the mortgage payment = rent payment, then you can afford it.

  3. “Yes, you may end up paying a mortgage until you are old, but if the mortgage payment = rent payment, then you can afford it.”

    Right now I’m paying P10,500 for a decent sized place that’s 20 minutes from my office. The nearby tiny condo units I’ve looked at will cost me at least double my rent for a fraction of the space 😛

  4. Ah, good point. I guess unless you save up for a bigger deposit (so smaller mortgage), and/or stretch out the payment longer, then yes, you may be better off renting. For now.

Leave a Reply

